Literary colouring books- Mix your love for literature with a bit of mindfulness and loads of colouring!

Literary colouring books- Mix your love for literature with a bit of mindfulness and loads of colouring!

We live in a hyper-connected world where the need to disconnect by pursuing mindfulness-based activities have almost become a necessity. One of the easiest and creatively satisfying activities for adults has been colouring. That is what makes adult colouring books so special. Indeed, this category of book is quite sought after. 

Literary colouring books however, take the experience to another level, especially for book lovers. With colourful lines and mindful strokes, you enter a fictional world that you can now personalize with your imagination. 

Some tips before you get started…

  • The right kind of colouring pencils or pens definitely help, but they are not a must. You may use what you have at home. 
  • A lot of these designs might be detailed and intricate, which is exactly how they are supposed to be. Be patient and don’t be overwhelmed by the intricacies! 
  • A ‘buddy system’ works well here. Find a colouring buddy, maybe a friend or family member (if you’re a parent, older kids make great buddies for this sort of activity!) and motivate each other. 
  • Have fun! 
  • Since we’re talking about literary colouring books specifically, why not reread or refer to some of those classics once more? 

“Colour without fear….no fear of judging your work….by yourself or no fear of staying within the lines, just have fun and colour like that fearless and confident child who scribbles a line and explains an entire story with it. We all as children coloured right? Why did we stop? Who asked us to?”

Kanika Gupta, Founder, Iktarra. Click here to read about their colouring books for adults.

Here is a curated list of some literary colouring books….and why we love them! These work for adults as well as older kids. 

Harry Potter colouring books

Potterheads can’t really get enough can they? These books are an invitation to add your own magic to the wizarding world. Magical creatures, places you love or charcaters who move you, there is something for every fan. And yes, we’ve also put Fantastic Beasts here. Ready to colour some magic? 

Sherlock Holmes colouring books

The most famous consulting detective in literature may be an odd candidate for a colouring book. However, there are plenty of fans who like to add their won touch to Holmes! Go ahead….deductive colouring? 

The Game of Thrones 

The super popular TV series is just perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire. HBO’s Game of Thrones took the world by storm! This is one-of-a-kind adult coloring book that features forty-five exclusive illustrations! The series may have ended but the fixation will not! 

The Jungle Book

The laws of the jungle allow you to indulge in some colour therapy. Rudyard Kipling’s famous book has enthralled generations of people. This presents the much-loved characters just waiting for you to add your special touch! If you like colouring animals this is just the book to have! 

Dr. Seuss Colouring Book

So, what if you’re an adult? If you have enjoyed reading his work, either as a child or maybe to your child, you’ll love the colouring book which has iconic characters from Dr Seuss’s vast treasure trove. A special tip- if you’re reading any of his books with your kids, or have read them, maybe the colouring book is a joint-activity that you can do alongside your kids! 

Enid Blyton 

Most of us have passed an entire childhood with Enid Blyton. No surprise then if we love this beautifully designed colouring book that uses the iconic original illustrations by Eileen Soper. This is the perfect gift for fans of The Famous Five! Here you will encounter iconic moments from the book…. the discovery of a shipwreck off Kirrin Island, a dramatic escape on horseback, the towering lighthouse embedded in rock and a secluded campsite out on the moors. Sounds familiar? It will be great to meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and, of course, Timmy the dog once more! 

This is an absolutely gorgeous colouring book that contains original artwork from all twenty-one Famous Five stories. But there is more. It also includes intricate patterns inspired by the series and quotes from these timeless stories. This is the official The Famous Five Colouring book, celebrating Enid Blyton’s much-loved adventure series.

Rediscover Jane Austen

Calling all Janeites! Jane Austen lived and wrote two centuries ago. However, she is so relevant even today. These selections of books feature either specific novels, or general scenes from her books or a collection of wit and wisdom. Take your pick! 

With these Literary colouring books you may easily mix your love for literature with a bit of mindfulness and loads of colouring! 

Dhanishta Shah
 

Dhanishta Shah

Dhanishta is a freelance writer, going strong on a quest to explore a variety of topics and avenues for generating purposeful content. A self-confessed bibliophile, she is the Founder of Bookedforlife.